Lacaton & Vassal


Anne Lacaton and Jean-Philippe Vassal founded their architecture agency in 1987. Well known for their minimalist work, centred on excavation and the enhancement of space, they stood out in the early 2000s as among the most emblematic French architects of a new interpretation of “Less is More”. Their search for sobriety was also expressed through the economy of their projects, based on adaptation to the context, the optimisation of systems of construction, energy neutrality, and the high quality of the spaces. Anne Lacaton and Jean- Philippe Vassal won the Mies Van Der Rohe Prize 2019, the Global Award for Sustainable Architecture 2018, the Lisboa Triennale Award for their overall achievement 2016, the Gold Medal from the Académie d’Architecture de France 2016, the Heinrich Tessenow Gold Medal 2016, the Design of the Year Award 2013, the Équerre d’Argent 2011, and the Grand prix national de l’architecture 2008. They were International Fellows of the Royal Institute of British Architects in 2009.

partager sur ou